My Other Half and Tallulah our 14-year-old Grand daughter have taken each other to London on the train today, to go see ‘Follies’, they both love musicals.  It is Grandad ‘s first trip to London without a responsible adult for decades.

Tallulah however,  knows modern London very well, she often goes with her Mum but this is her first trip where she is in charge.  He tends to forget to eat and is easily side tracked and has very little sense of time, lovely though he is!

They set off from Rugby Station armed with a sheet of instructions, Oyster cards and mobile phones, they will be back this evening 10-ish,  fingers crossed and now I am not casting them another thought.

I have turned down a very lovely offer to spend the day with Kate, eating cake and talking non-stop.  My son-in-law offered to fetch and return me whenever but I will see her tomorrow when we return the borrowed Grand daughter so I don’t feel too deprived.

And I am well into my plan of drifting through a whole day all by myself. a very rare thing indeed.  As long as it is not repeated too often it is a pure delight.

I stood in the shower for a whole half an hour, relishing the decadence of time to waste and also took some time to contemplate what to wear.  The same as usual of course but the joy was in the time to look.

I have as always, cleaned the toothpaste off the bathroom mirror  (nobody ever seems to notice it but me and Aunty Pat when she comes from Italy), and then I spent some time gazing at the reflected image that resembles my Granny more each day.  National Health pink spectacles and my grey hair pinned fiercely  on top of my head and we could be twins.

Lunch time and I have only just put my washing machine on, just as my more efficient neighbours have fetched their dry washing in and are no doubt ironing it as we speak.  I don’t iron ever, I used to but hey!  Life is too short, if you want ironing you do it yourself.  One of the lessons that I learnt from my daughter.  Thanks Kate.

All these things I do most days encompassed into a short amount of time, today I am chilling and I have Golden Syrup Cake poised ready to go with my cup of tea, when I sit down to read my book for an hour this afternoon.  How cool is that?