A Text message that I received from my GP;  SUMMARY CARE RECORD IS DATA SHARED WITH HEALTH AND CARE PROFESSIONALS, HAVING ADDITIONAL INFO ON YOUR SCR CAN HELP STAFF INVOLVED IN YOUR CARE MAKE BETTER AND SAFER DECISIONS.  YOU CAN CONSENT TO SHARING ADDITIONAL INFO BY TEXTING ‘YES’ TO ……….And here they have put my Surgery details.

I am always suspicious of unexpected texts and having no idea what it was all about made a few enquiries.  I like to be armed with a little knowledge before facing the Receptionists at the Doctors.

And here I will quote again from a NHS form.

THE SCR PROVIDES A SUMMARY OF A PATIENT’S RECORDS TO AUTHORISED HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONALS WHO ARE TREATING THEM ANYWHERE WITHIN NHS ENGLAND.  THIS SUMMARY CAN BE USED IN EMERGENCY AND OUT OF HOURS CARE AND INCLUDES SUCH THINGS AS ALLERGIES AND ALLERGIC REACTIONS, PRESCRIBED MEDICATION , SIGNIFICANT MEDICAL HISTORY AND IMMUNISATIONS.

Sounds good sense but in my ignorance I didn’t realise that this didn’t automatically happen anyway.  And even more confusing, my Other Half, hasn’t heard/received any messages at all.

It has taken me three days to contact my Practise Manager, the Receptionist kept telling me in answer to my questions that without signing ‘YES’ I stood a chance of being killed by the ignorance of any Emergency Services that tried to treat me in a crisis but that I could tick the ‘NO’ box if I wanted to!

So already I was convinced that I had to tick the ‘YES’ box, but still concerned that should any thing happen to me/us before we did that (and at any time in the past) we were at risk and still I wanted to know more.

In the those three days, I spoke with people connected with other GP Practises, other people concerned with the NHS in various capacities and received much confusing information, and some of them were as confused as me.

And finally today I managed to speak to the Practise Manager and here I shall summarise what I understood her to say.

About 2 years ago the Government decided that it would be useful if the NHS had access to all Patients information, Hospitals, GP’s Health Care Workers etc.  So they opted us all in.

Now they have decided that we must have a say, so they are giving us the chance to opt ‘IN’ or ‘OUT’ and given GP Surgeries 12 months to put this into action.

Apparently my Surgery has pinned notices in the Waiting Room about this and put details on their Website.

In my defence for I knew nothing of any of this.  There are hundreds of notices on our Waiting Room walls which cover everything you could possibly need to know from VD, to Child Birth, so many that I don’t even notice them anymore, they look like wallpaper.

And as for the Website, why would I want to look at that, obviously I should but what is the incentive?  I have been with this Practise for about 40 years, I know where it is and how to contact them should it be necessary!

The Manager admitted that they were not convinced that they had everything sorted but explained that out of the thousand text messages sent out 600 people had ticked ‘YES’ and I was the only person to query what it was all about.

She didn’t know why my Other Half hadn’t been asked the question but she assured me that if he contacted them he could do it over the phone.  And she was delighted with a bit of  ‘Word of Mouth’ action.

She had no idea why that particular thousand had been chosen or what system of contacting Patients was being rolled out but assured me that she would make enquiries, and also suggested that if I had any ideas to simplify and sort things out that I get in touch with her and gave me a telephone number to leave messages on.

We shall of course be opting in, why wouldn’t we?  But as a NHS cynic remarked “more lists which will sooner or later be sold on”.

 

 

 

 

