How quickly the year seems to move on.  My garden is in lush early Summer already and I am trying to drink in the first Roses before next weeks forecast wind and rain batters them.

And in the shady corners there are still Spring Bluebells and Forget-me-nots, and the meadow grass seed scattered on the old vegetable plot is beginning to green it over.

Some gentle rain is what is required, however not what is forecast so I am fearful for my apple blossom.  No blossom no apples, a true-ism that I have spent years trying to get my city born Other Half to understand when we have a late frost or a gale that strips the trees.

And for some unknown reason the Plum Trees have no blossom at all this year.  Some years they are so heavily laden we waste half the fruits.  ‘Feast or Famine’ as I often quote from my long gone Father.

And I have just booked our B&B for Builth Wells in September, and an extra night so that we don’t have to drive those windy Welsh roads when we are tired from packing and loading on a dark September evening remembering that the days will be shortening.

Using up the year if only on paper and already thinking of booking Fairs and lodgings up until next New Year.

My New Years resolution is always to savour every moment of the new year before it whirls away and carries us with it.

