Kate has lent me a book, she often does.  It is very rarely that we meet and she isn’t carrying a bag full of books for me.

Some are presents to be savoured in my own time and some are just to borrow.  And although I am never without a book/or several, she brings me books that I probably would not choose for myself.  Adventures into the unknown, a joy in itself.

I constantly have a list of ‘must have’ books of my own and I find that the local Library is very limited in these austere days and I have to ration myself in bookshops otherwise I would happily fritter several weeks worth of house-keeping money in one huge binge.

And if you know me,  you will know that I am lucky enough to be a dealer in books, amongst other Antiques and Collectables and that I always have teetering heaps of books that are on the way to my stall at various Fairs, some very covetable and take that bit longer to get there.

In the optimum position within arms reach of my bed are those being read and those to read and piled amongst them are books to be dipped in an out of, depending upon my mood.

Sometimes a dark mood can be dispelled by poems, Hilaire Belloc or recipes, Nigel Slater or a good vintage travel book.

Or insomnia cured by such as ‘Landmarks’, Robert Macfarlane’s  book on the language of place, all the different words for say, Hills, lakes or even fields and other places and their roots and why’s.  A chapter or two puts me to sleep mulling over the people and places, and things that need a lot of thought.

A bit of Fantasy, too many strands of this genre to list here but I like a bit of Science Fiction, Tolkien, Aaronovich which I might have spelt wrongly but I wish he would write faster I am waiting on the next in his series.

And I love a good Murder book, not too much gratuitous violence, a ridiculous thing to say about murder but as I get older I can’t be doing with nastiness, I like clever.  I have just finished ‘Speaking from among the Bones’ by Alan Bradley.  I sneered  when I read the blurb but nothing ventured nothing gained and then got into it and enjoyed it.  Not wonderous but a nice old fashioned ‘who dunnit’.

Once the book button is metaphorically pressed I can go on alarmingly, almost as bad as Carnival Glass!

And so, the rest of the hurry up and read pile in no particular order consists of ‘A Ram in the Well’ by June Knox-Mawer, ‘English Food’ by Jane Grigson, ‘The Painted Dragon’ by Katherine Woodfine, ‘Life after Life’ by Kate Atkinson and ‘The Romance of Mountaineering’ by R.L.G.Irving.

You can nearly always tell a Vintage, in this case 1930’s book by the full set of initials in front of the name, and although I haven’t acknowledged them here the credits and/or titles that follow it, sorry Mr.Irving!

And at the top of the pile (and I have started it Kate if you are reading this) is ‘Hidden Nature’ by Alys Fowler and up to now a delight, a totally unexpected travel book about the canals of Birmingham and life.  A proof copy that Kate got to review and thought, rightly so, that I would like but can I read it quickly so she can pass it on to some else who will love it.

Books are for sharing, and as much as I love my Kindle the books on there are not so share-able as proper ones.

For me, Kindles are for travelling and books to hold in the hand are for keeping and savouring.

This blog is a pure selfish indulgence written just for me, I am happy to share it but understand if you just want to pass on by.

 

 

 

 

