Another grey and sulky morning, weather-wise I mean,  although as I am not really awake yet that could be me as well!

A funny, odd week I always think, this limbo between Christmas Day and the New Year.

In this modern age many people fill it by shopping but surely there is a limit to how much one needs, if only by how much one can afford.  And didn’t we buy/spend it all in the run-up to Christmas.  Apparently not!

Fortunately for us, we have had nice visitors and a friend had a birthday yesterday and a very pleasant get together.  Nice company and nice food.  It woke us from our lethargy and gave us something to look forward to.

Today we shall eat plain food and slob about as befits our aged-ness poised ready for the off with a whole new pristine year to trample all over tomorrow.

And more seriously, my thoughts go out to those that have been and are battling the weather and its consequences and I am more than grateful that I live where I do, on a hill top in the Midlands.

And so, rather selfishly I am off to have another cup of coffee, Happy New Year to all.

 

 

