pet 001

Loading for the Fair today, unload and set up from lunchtime tomorrow, public in Friday and Saturday and load and home again Saturday night.

Not too arduous really as we only have a single stall, much less space than usual but then that makes choosing what to take all the more difficult, so I shall wander around all day with a furrowed brow.

Two thirds of the space I concede to my Other Half and the Carnival Glass and so really I just have one six foot long table and they are very fierce at Peterborough about setting up over the boundary. no spilling out into the aisles or they come and shout and make you move it all!

So the problem is do I take the 1920’s Pharmacist Ledger, A lovely piece of social history.  All the ailments of the world and how much each prescription cost and who to.  The Chemist obviously knew his customers as sometimes it just says things like ‘Electricians mixture’, or ‘Mrs.Smiths new baby’. A real delight.

Or my old newspapers, George III, George IV, William IV and a few Victorian, they too are full of gossip, fantastic adverts. ‘Today arriving in Plymouth a shipment of silk from China for my Lady clients delight’, newly published books,  Servants required and requiring positions, Estates for sale and patent cures for everything.  And all the shipping news and War news, and Court and political news,  we appear to be constantly at war with someone, the Dutch, the French etc.

Perhaps volumes of old bound Punch books, stretching back into Victorian times.   I love them for their satirical views but you do have to know your history for them to make you laugh and also they make you realise that nothing ever changes really.  The politics and scandals of those days are similar to todays , only the names and places have been changed!(To protect the innocent.  An old family joke.  This disclaimer used to accompany scurrilous articles and programmes years ago).

And Children’s books, modern copies and originals, and Magazines published during the First World War, and Art Magazines from the 1930’s and on and on I could go but I have to be sensible.

Oh. Yes I had forgotten the French Ladies Magazines from the 1950’s and Cook Books, old and new, one dated from the 1700’s. And some 20th century newspapers, and poems and classic fiction.  Enough!

My problem is compounded by the fact that I am not a traditional book dealer.  I cannot abide serried ranks of book spines, where is the joy in that?  I like to lay or prop my books open so that customers can see the delights inside and browse and see the very things that make my heart sing.

So I am sorting!

