Time to Hibernate!

Time to Hibernate!

The garden Gnomes are massing for their winter hibernation.  The Grand Children usually pack them away on the veranda somewhere but now that they (the children) are growing up and busy they don’t always get to visit at the right times for these important dates in the year so it is up to me to find them a nice comfortable box and make sure they are comfy.

And with their winter sleep comes the last of the beans and apples although there is one of our trees, eating apples I think, that is not quite ready for picking yet.

The last of the beans, I am quite sad.

The last of the beans, I am quite sad.

And the garden is full of toadstools/mushrooms which confirms my thoughts that once upon a time our garden was just woodland.  I wish that I was good at knowing which is which because I am sure that some of the many different species are mushrooms.  My Dad would have known, he was a great forager but sadly I am too frightened of poisoning us, and there is no antidote to toadstool poison.  Much too risky!

Half a Fairy Ring!

Half a Fairy Ring!

Only half a Fairy Ring, they obviously like their foundations to be in the grass and not under the bushes.  The Grandchildren would be so impressed, it’s a pity that they aren’t here.

There are about 4 different kinds as far as I can see, and some are lovely,  Red skin with white spots, and some slimy looking and horrible, and some that look just like mushrooms!

Pretty!

Pretty!

Another week or so and the night-time temperatures will have dropped or there will be incessant rain and these will all be gone until next year.  Such a fleeting time, they appear and disappear, like many things in my life ephemeral!

