Turn of the season, the days are noticeably shortening and I am beginning to slip into Autumn mode.

Sorting logs and kindling and making sure that the hearth is ready for Autumn evenings.

And the utility room is full of apples, waiting for me to do something clever with them.  I am thinking about it and whilst I am thinking we are slowly getting through them, apple pie and crumble and apple snow, and just plain old apple with rice pudding.

We have been fortunate this year, up to now a nice long lazy Autumn, sunny days and chilly evenings.  The garden slowly changing colours and the end of the summer merging into the autumn just the way  I like it.

Of course writing this will probably herald gales and lashing rain although the weather forecast for the next week is good, fingers crossed then.

